Religions in Nepal

Hinduism (81.3%)

Buddhism (9.0%)

Islam (4.4%)

Yumaism (3.0%)

Christianity (1.4%)

Other (0.9%)

Hinduism is the dominant religionof the Indian subcontinent, particularly of India and Nepal, which consists of many diverse traditions. It includes Shaivohmism, Vaishnavism and Shaktism among numerous other traditions, and a wide spectrum of laws and prescriptions of “daily morality” based on karma, dharma, and societal norms. Hinduism is a categorisation of distinct intellectual or philosophical points of view, rather than a rigid, common set of beliefs.

Hinduism has been called the “oldest religion” in the world,and many practitioners refer to Hinduism as Sanātana Dharma, “the eternal law” or the “eternal way” beyond human origins.It prescribes the “eternal” duties all Hindus have to follow, regardless of class, caste, or sect, such as honesty, purity, and self-restraint.


is a nontheistic religion that encompasses a variety of traditions, beliefs and practices largely based on teachings attributed to Siddhartha Gautama, who is commonly known as the Buddha, meaning “the awakened one”. According to Buddhist tradition, the Buddha lived and taught in the eastern part of the Indian subcontinent sometime between the 6th and 4th centuries BCE.He is recognized by Buddhists as an awakened or enlightened teacher who shared his insights to help sentient beings end their suffering through the elimination of ignorance and craving by way of understanding and the seeing of dependent origination, with the ultimate goal of attainment of the sublime state of nirvana.

Two major branches of Buddhism are generally recognized: Theravada (“The School of the Elders”) and Mahayana (“The Great Vehicle”). Theravada has a widespread following in Sri Lanka and Southeast Asia (Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Myanmar etc.). Mahayana is found throughout East Asia (China, Korea, Japan, Vietnam, Singapore, Taiwan etc.) and includes the traditions of Pure Land, Zen, Nichiren Buddhism, Tibetan Buddhism, Shingon, and Tiantai (Tendai). In some classifications, Vajrayana—practiced mainly in Tibet and Mongolia, and adjacent parts of China and Russia—is recognized as a third branch, while others classify it as a part of Mahayana.

Islam is a monotheistic and Abrahamic religion articulated by the Qur’an, a book considered by its adherents to be the verbatim word of God[1] (Arabic: الله‎ Allāh) and by the teachings and normative example (called the Sunnah and composed of hadith) of Muhammad, considered by them to be the last prophet of God. An adherent of Islam is called a Muslim.islam-symbol-FN47_l

Muslims believe that God is one and incomparable [2] and the purpose of existence is to submit to and serve Allah (God).[3] Muslims also believe that Islam is the complete and universal version of a primordial faith that was revealed before many times throughout the world, including notably through Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses and Jesus, whom they consider prophets.[4] They maintain that the previous messages and revelations have been partially misinterpreted or altered over time,[5] but consider the Arabic Qur’an to be both the unaltered and the final revelation of God.[6] Religious concepts and practices include the five pillars of Islam, which are basic concepts and obligatory acts of worship, and following Islamic law, which touches on virtually every aspect of life and society, providing guidance on multifarious topics from banking and welfare, to warfare and the environment

Kirat Mundhum (also Kirati Mundhum), also called Kiratism or Kirantism, Yuma Samyo or Yumaism, is the religion of the Kirat peoples of Nepal. The practice is also known as Kirat Veda, Kirat Veda,[3] Kirat-Ko Veda[4] or Kirat Koved.CULTURE NEPAL According to some scholars, such as Tom Woodhatch, it is a blend of animism (e.g., ancestor worship (Sumnima/Paruhang)),[6] Saivite Hinduism,[7] and Tibetan Buddhism.[7] It is practiced by about 3.6% of the Nepali population.[8] Before it was recognized as a religion on the Nepali census, 36% of the Kirati population claimed to follow the Kirant religion, but when it was recognized this figure increased to 73.9%, a 157% increase in the Nepali Kiratis

Christianity (from the Ancient Greek translation Χριστός, Christos of the Hebrew מָשִׁיחַ, Mašíaḥ, meaning “the anointed one”[1] and the Latin suffixes ian and -itas) is a nearly always[note 1] monotheistic[2] religion based on the life and oral teachings of Jesus as presented in the New Testament. Christianity is the world’s largest religion,[3][4] with approximately 2.2 billion adherents, known as Christians.[5][6][7][8] Most Christians believe that Jesus is the Son of God, fully divine and fully human, and the savior of humanity prophesied in the Old Testament. Consequentially, Christians refer to Jesus as “Christ” or Messiah.CULTURE NEPAL

The foundations of Christian theology are expressed in ecumenical creeds that are accepted by followers of the Christian faith. These professions state that Jesus suffered, died, was buried, and was resurrected from the dead in order to grant eternal life to those who believe in him and trust in him for the remission of their sins. The creeds further maintain that Jesus bodily ascended into heaven, where he reigns with God the Father. Most Christian denominations teach that Jesus will return to judge all humans, living and dead, and to grant eternal life to his followers. He is considered the model of a virtuous life. His ministry, crucifixion, and resurrection are often referred to as the gospel, meaning “Good News” (a loan translation of the Greek: εὐαγγέλιον euangélion). The term gospel also refers to written accounts of Jesus’s life and teaching, four of which—the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John—are considered canonical and are included in Christian Bibles.

Leave a Reply

it's a longtail presentation

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On LinkedinCheck Our Feed